Safety and Quality Standards

The IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA) Programme is an internationally recognised and accepted evaluation system designed to assess the operational management and control systems of an airline. IOSA uses internationally recognised quality audit principles, and is designed so that audits are conducted in a standardised and consistent manner.

Ukraine International Airlines is the first officially registered IOSA Operator in the CIS which have successfully completed the IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA). UIA became the 51st registered IOSA Operator out of more than 250 IATA members, alongside KLM, Lufthansa, Austrian Airlines, TAP and SAS which are also on the IOSA Registry.

This official IOSA Operator status proves that our operational and safety standards are fully in line with international requirements.

The scope of the audit includes eight operational areas:

  • Corporate Organisation & Management
  • Flight Operations
  • Operational Control/Flight Dispatch
  • Aircraft Engineering & Maintenance
  • Cabin Operations
  • Aircraft Ground Handling
  • Cargo Operations
  • Operational Security

By initiating the new Operational Safety Audit Programme development, the IATA management aimed to meet the following aviation industry standards:

The IOSA Certificate has been recognised by the US Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) as such that meets the audit requirements of the U.S. Code-share Programme for foreign airlines seeking code-sharing contracts.

UIA have successfully underwent numerous code-share audits in the process of concluding code-share agreements with leading European airlines such as KLM, TAP, Austrian Airlines, Swiss International Airlines, Finnair and Iberia.